Reviews

Excellent! I have no complains! great value for money. My boyfriend and I stayed in the double standard room. Perfect for couples and everything was clean. We could finally rest and have a good night sleep.

Anonymous
April 6, 2016

I thought I hated it. And then I loved it. A lot. Full of amazing people, many of which will show you around Budapest (cheers Kate, Trey..) Really, everyone here is fantastic. Like a family that will accept you after a 24 hour vetting period. Disclaimer; You might never leave, but that's ok. Much love to you all XxxxxxX

OllieMadd
April 3, 2016

I've been meaning to write this review for a while - I stayed at Mandala for a few nights when visiting a friend in Budapest. This cosy hostel is run by a group of lovely, welcoming people. Its relaxing atmosphere makes it a wonderful place to come back to at the end of a long day. It's clean, tidy and just generally a really cool, chilled atmosphere. The staff are super helpful with giving advice on where to go in the city during the day and night. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Kira G
March 19, 2016

This is one of my favorite places on earth at the moment. It has a home-like atmosphere - several long-term and returning guests, plus most of the workers tend to hang around for many months, so half the people in the hostel are practically residents. Everyone gets to meet everyone else as they enter, and the social aspect is cozy and vibrant - we often go out together in the evenings, cook and eat together, play music, watch movies, etc.

Anonymous
February 2, 2016

In general the hostel is good. But there are some issues that we need to point: 1. There are 2 cats in the hostel. They are very friendly but I am allergic to pets. They should give this information on the description of the hostel. 2. In our first night there some guests and staff were playing the guitar and singing very loud till 2 am! 3. There is no living room. Some beds are in the common area, so you always feel like you are disturbing other guests.

Anonymous
January 24, 2016

What a wonderful place! Cosy hostel in the center with two cats and sometimes a dog. Kind of asian style, no bunk beds and two very clean, spacious bathrooms. Sometimes we cooked together or had a jam session. If you are looking for a relaxed, peaceful place, this is it.

Anonymous
January 22, 2016

Since I had a flight from Budapest I decided to stay in this city for a two days, discovering place for the fist time and for that reason I chose Mandala hostel. Hostel is great with nice location especially for young persons and world travelers because it is not classical boring dormitory spot, it looks more like a huge warm home where everyone can meet, sit, chat, play music on guitar and so on. Stuff is excellent (all of them) and since I arrived in hostel we have different conversations about many topics. To be honest beds are maybe not the most comfortable in the world (who really cares about that anyway?) and sometime hostel is really busy but this is just a minor minuses for the value which you got in comparing to the great price.

Igor L
January 3, 2016

Liked: Without doubt the best and most unique hostel I've ever stayed at. I volunteered here through 'Workaway' in the summer of 2013 and had a great time - so much so that I came back recently to visit and stay again as a guest. The guests and staff usually all hang out together, so it's perfect if you're travelling alone. The location is a short walk away from all the sights/main ruin bars, and there are loads of other less well-known bars and restaurants nearby. The hostel has a dog and two cats, and the place really feels like a home away from home. You'll definitely want to come back - I did!

Disliked: Nothing!

Anonymous
December 1, 2015

The beds were great and the showers were clean. There were some cooking facilities and the wifi was fine.

A few big drawbacks - there is a living space in with the bedroom, and often the staff would come into the space and sing songs etc. This is very frustrating when it's late at night (and sometimes ran on until after midnight). They were friendly and never minded if you joined them, but it's a pain if you just wanted to go to sleep.

Oscar T
September 21, 2015

The chill vibe is for real. The staff was super friendly, and so were the other guests I met. The hippie aesthetic is not just for show — if you like the kind of place where you take your shoes off at the door, you will like Mandala. The dogs are sweet, too. I liked the building a lot, and it's close to some good cafes. I slept well, but there was usually a line for the bathroom in the morning. Overall, I would stay there again.

whichthat
September 19, 2015